How to fuck up your hard disk – and how to recover it

A few days ago, I got a computer from my host dad to avoid conflicts with my host brother about using his computer. There was still Windows XP installed with files and data from the previous owner, but I wanted to install Ubuntu anyway. That day the internet in my room wasn’t working so I really had nothing to do and started right away to install Ubuntu.

This shouldn’t have been that difficult – I installed Ubuntu already a few times on different computers and have never experienced any problems. That’s why I didn’t made any precautions. Lesson learned, I won’t ever do that again. Always make a damn update!

I would have made one, but I was/am rather short of funds: It’s an old machine, Pentium III, floppy disk (thank god – nowadays many computers are shipped without, I myself sometimes consider it as lesser important), CD drive and a 10 gb hard disk drive. So how am I supposed to do an backup without the resources I can use in Germany?!

Live Disk as usual, I change the partition by hand. It seems to go well – until to the next installation step: I need to assign root and swap to the partitions. But the wizard tells me the partitions are somehow broken. WTF? I cancel the installation, but it was too late, Windows wouldn’t boot any more.

It’s about fine with me – I could have used Ubuntu only. The big nasty problem was that my host dad, or better the computer’s previous owner needed some files he forgot to copy/backup/whatever. Shit.

I knew there were recovery tools for these kind of problems. I just had never ever needed something like that and I had to teach myself from scratch how to do it. Where? Big, old pal Internet would help.

I got a few tools which made hope, it showed all the data. But it was only freeware and didn’t allow to write the found data. How convenient.

I had a hell of a stress the last days. My host dad wasn’t that happy when he found out what’d happened. But after all it only confirmed his opinion that I was responsible for breaking every computer. My host brother didn’t let me use his computer, because he always has been pissed of about the need to share it and afterall I had now my own computer. Fine.

Last option: Internet cafe. A very interesting experience. Surrounded by Russians (age 9-17) playing Counter Strike and similar games. But at least the feeling that you can use a computer as long as you want and need to (okay, I had to pay … but that were peanuts 1Ls/3 hours).

I figured out how to use a tool I already tried out, but with which I was overburdened: testdisk. Back home I tried it out (after arguing with my host brother to change keyboards – I had only one for usb port which is pretty useless in DOS) and was relieved that it worked about as described, although it was a slightly newer version.

Even better: Windows worked. Internet worked. Ha, life is fine.

I wondered how I could donate something (I don’t have Paypal), but the main brain behind the tool also collects Euro coins! Very good, I ordered my parents to collect some and sent them over to France. Maybe I can even think of some lines in French to write him!

14 Responses to “How to fuck up your hard disk – and how to recover it”

  1. annette Says:

    You are and will stay a slob :-)!

  2. savs dators! ar ubuntu « jons(k) latvijā Says:

    […] kaadaam problemaam, man ir tagad Ubuntu. Bet es gribeetu zinaat, vai ir iespeja izmantot latvieshu klaviatura kaa ar […]

  3. | savs dators! ar ubuntu Says:

    […] kaadaam problemaam, man tagad ir Ubuntu. Bet es gribeetu zinaat, vai ir iespeja izmantot latvieshu klaviatura kaa ar […]

  4. Svaigs.lv » Blog Archive » savs dators! ar ubuntu Says:

    […] kaadaam problemaam, man tagad ir Ubuntu. Bet es gribeetu zinaat, vai ir iespeja izmantot latvieshu klaviatura kaa ar […]

  5. Data Recovery, Data Recovery Service, Hard Disk Recovery, Hard Disk Restoration, Hard Drive Recovery Says:

    Data Recovery, Data Recovery Service, Hard Disk Recovery, Hard Disk Restoration, Hard Drive Recovery…

    […]How to fuck up your hard disk – and how to recover it « n0id online[…]…

  6. How To Get Rid Of Malware Says:

    Greetings from Florida! I’m bored to tears at work so I decided to check out your website on my iphone during lunch break. I love the knowledge you provide here and can’t wait to take a look
    when I get home. I’m amazed at how fast your blog loaded on my cell phone .. I’m not even using WIFI, just
    3G .. Anyways, amazing site!

  7. are uggs at nordstrom different Says:

    Use a smaller level of watered down Better along with
    Restorative strategy to a clear soaked cloth or sponge.

    It was Deckers, he says, that transformed UGG Boots Cheap into a high-fashion item, spending $7m on
    marketing over the past decade and sending boots to personalities such as Oprah Winfrey.
    Angela Daley binds the boot and adds the finishing details.

  8. Hayden Says:

    Hi, I do believe this is a great web site. I stumbledupon
    it ;) I will revisit yet again since i have bookmarked it.
    Money and freedom is the greatest way to change, may you be
    rich and continue to guide other people.

  9. reputation management Says:

    I like the valuable info you provide in your articles.

    I will bookmark your blog and check again here frequently.
    I’m quite certain I will learn lots of new stuff right here! Best of luck for the next!

  10. refinance how to Says:

    Please let me know if you’re looking for a article author for your weblog. You have some really good articles and I feel I would be a good asset. If you ever want to take some of the load off, I’d love to
    write some content for your blog in exchange for a link back to mine.

    Please shoot me an e-mail if interested. Kudos!

  11. socialbuzzweb Says:

    Someone essentially lend a hand to make significantly articles I might state.
    This is the first time I frequented your web page and thus
    far? I amazed with the research you made to create this particular post extraordinary.

    Fantastic process!

  12. go and visit Says:

    Greetings! I’ve been following your web site for some time now and finally got the courage to go ahead and give you a shout out from Lubbock Texas! Just wanted to say keep up the excellent job!

  13. depilacion intima laser Says:

    I blog frequently and I really thank you for your content.

    This great article has truly peaked my interest. I will bookmark your blog and keep checking for new details about once per week.

    I subscribed to your RSS feed as well.

  14. chicken coop ideas Says:

    I like it whenever people come together and share thoughts.
    Great blog, continue the good work!

Leave a Reply

