The actual report of my week in Hamburg

This time, I'll complete what I'm about to beginn. A report of last week with YFU in Hamburg for exchange preparation purposes. I won't publish this post until I told every last bit about last week. Nevertheless it is very difficult due to the fact that I am not allowed to tell too much. I mean, it might read someone who'll have his own prep and it would took away the punchline for several activities for him.

Nevertheless – If you don't want to be spoiled at all, I would suggest not to read this article, although I think it's not spoiling anything that would take your fun away.

The Saturday before last I took the train (by the way, I could catch the fifth part of The Dark Tower at the train station's bookstore – what a chance) to Hamburg (it is so fucking expensive nowadays). I actually believed the week would take place in Hamburg itself. But unfortunately, among other participants I met in the bus we had to drive a whole hour out of Hamburg. Nevertheless what I saw of Hamburg seemed very nice.

I slept in the bus and didn't talk to the other students I'd just met. I was just too tired. We arrived in Geesthacht, I shared a room with five six other students and it took some time until everyone was assembled (fourty-six going to be exchange students and thirteen supervisors). The afternoon didn't happen that much: inctroduction and get-to-know-each-other-games.

The evening we already started the first serious event. I won't explain it hear, I think it belongs to the could-destroy-others-fun category.

The next days, we had a plenty of programm. Ah, it's a pity I can't tell about it in detail.

Sunday, we had a crash course in recent history. The last hundred years in Germany in only seventy-five minutes. But it wasn't intended for us to memorize every little detail, fact and date. It was more kind of a very interactive museum. Afterwards we seperated into little groups, around ten students and a few supervisors (supervisor doesn't taste right, nor does leader or any other word I found in the dictionnary – they doesn't have the connotation of fun – native speakers may help!!!). That would be practiced all week, altough the compensation of the groups changed.

We had great discussions. Really. It shouldn't be as school and it wasn't. The day school turns into such a working place with a chilled atmosphere, nearly everyone talking (more or less – and sometimes you needed a few motivated guys to push the conversation – I often did) and saying his opinion bringing in ideas and so on ….. that day I'm going to be teacher. Unfortunately I never won't (and that's good as I would never want to be teacher – however, I hope you got my point).

Where did I stop? Yes, history. We discussed the history in 65 minutes presentation and moved to responsibility, imprinting, and, as always, to the W – questions. Why did we do that? What relates it to your exchange year? Stuff like this.

I can shorten the next days, at least the details. It was always similiar (not that it was boring – nooo way). Sometimes we did a excercise before, a (role-)play, a game, whatever.

Monday I got up an hour earlier – just to go running (the group running became smaller and smaller over the week with the same degree as everyone slept lesser and lesser). Monday we talked about our identity. We developed (okay, with a little help) a pattern for identity in relation to our exchange (the W-questions).

I don't know the exact order of the next topics, so I'll just list them (and mayhap explain a little).

Europe – we talked about the EU, economy, culture all this stuff. I mean, we were all going to go abroad within Europe – most of us to East Europe.

Culture. That one was very interesting. We developed many patterns (or to be more specific – we got told the most) like a house which has three pillars – communication, institutions and values. And the basement is history (which links to our first topic).

Around wednesday, I think, our community of exchange students had been grown really tight together. I wasn't as quick as I got to know my AFS friends which disappointed me a little at first. Nevertheless, I don't want that to sound negative. Around wednesday, I started to drunk too much coffee. I really exagerated. But hey, I still participated in the morning run!!

Communication and values were topics in the last days. Also very interesting and informative. There was a really great presentation for communication, before we splitted in little groups and realized, that noone of us used the information we had got. Well, after a while, most of us did. I think I was one of the very last.

I forgot democracy. There was a long during, but well made presentation for it too. We had a special guest who only came to show us his presentation.

There was something we were strictly told not to tell at (AFS had it too) referring to selective perception and accommodation as the last topic.

And a few things in between. We had an evening for us students to organize something fun for our leaders (I still don't like the word, damn) and it was great. It was the last day and I went to sleep around 4:00 am.

Most evenings we had little groups (about three to four students) to discuss the day, chitchat a little and so on. My group (it was always the same) was fabulous (and our topics very philosophical). Thanks to you, should you ever happend to read this at all.

And, the best at the end: We all commited countless murders. Yes, to be honest, we were kind of barbaric. It was like a bloody slaughter. Piles of corpses. Everyone against each other. Don't count the dead, just continue to kill. Okay, I was joking. But we still had a murder game, although it was bloodless. One had a name and a condition to 'kill' someone. But noone could be around except 'dead' people.

The departure was sad. A few even had to whine. Everyone hugging each other. Just cool. I took the train home. I was home. I slept fourteen hours.

So that was last week. I think there still miss things, but I'm already writing and writing and can't end. I hope there's still anyone who's willing to read all this. If so, hope you'd fun, I tried to add a dash of humour.

Edit: A side note: This is my longest post ever. ;-)

One Response to “The actual report of my week in Hamburg”

  1. Omar Says:

    restepeke!

Leave a Reply

