Type it easy

English is, as far as I know, the most used language to communicate in the internet. Due to the fact that English is also often used by scientists, the internet was from sratch on in English. I would suggest that other languages came later, with the increasing number of normal users.

And I think for this reason, the Internet talking English, English will be the most spoken language instead of Chinese by the time global access to the web has increased.

But back to typing: I had recently a few chat conversations in French and I wrote mails in French. And it was much more difficult than writing something in English (not to mention German). Of course, my French is ways worser than my English. But this is just one reason.

Unlike English French has a variety of special characters, like à, é, è, â, ô or c with a cedilla (I would need the windows charmap to show it – I think with a German keyboard configuration it's not possible to insert it). And I think most other languages have those special characters with Macrons, Carons, Cedillas or however you call these little additions to a regualer character. Scandinavian languages have it (I learned Finish for a while and it was very annoying to learn it due to these characters), Latvian has quite a huge number and you could long this list as long as you want.

German, has some special characters too, for example ä, ö, or ü. Although, I can type these characters as easy as any other. But of course only because I'm used to it. I don't know, how difficult are these characters for non native speakers (writers)? Maybe with another keyboard language? I don't know if similiar conventions exist in other languages, but in German you can alternatively use ae instead of ä, oe for ö and so on which solves the problem. 

English is an easy language. And the lack of special characters makes it even more easier. Any keyboard in the world should be usable to type English without having to change the keyboard language. (Don't they? I don't know how Chinese keyboards look like ;-) ) I didn't tried it yet, but I am very excited how easy/difficult it'll be to type Latvian. 

6 Responses to “Type it easy”

  1. Michael Says:

    The roots of the Internet are in a project funded by the US Department of Defense (DoD). During the Cold War, they wanted to build a system that was decentralized, so that it could survive a partial nuclear blast. The system should be self adjusting, so if a few nodes drop out, it should actively use other connections instead keeping itself operational.
    After the initial stage developed by military scientists, the project was extended to include US universities. While still being military in nature, non-military uses were permitted and actually fostered.
    So in fact, the US-Americans had quite an early start and therefore set most of the standards in the Internet.
    However, do not underestimate other languages like Spanish or Chinese. Always keep in mind that humans BY DEFAULT have a highly selective perception: you see what you WANT to see!
    Since you do not speak Spanish or Chinese, you barely visit Spanish or Chinese websites. Even though you probably stumble upon them from time to time, you barely notice them. To draw the conclusion that they don’t EXIST may be human nature, but is utterly wrong. The number of Chinese webpages already exceeds the number of German webpages. Asia as a whole is about to push Europe from rank #2 in terms of Internet saturation. And then there is the so called “invisible web” – pages that are not indexed in any search engine but still exist.
    You know what the most advanced “Internet country” in terms of speed, sites per inhabitants, saturation and throughput is? It’s not the US. It’s not Germany. It’s not China. Not even Japan. It’s South Korea! They have the biggest pipes, the fastest growth rates, and the largest connectivity rate.

    Yes, English may still be the most used language on the web. It may even remain the most used language. But my guess is that it will not play a leading role for much longer, but become a peer among peers, one of the three dominant web languages.

  2. Michael Says:

    Why does it say “No comments” when there IS a comment?

  3. Jona Says:

    WordPress.com hasn’t the fastest/best servers … although they said they did a hardware update yesterday ;-) Hm, I don’t know, maybe it’s a caching problem?

    I see your point, that makes sense. But there is still one advantage with English: It’s easier. Let’s say you have an international enterprise, located in South Korea. They’ll have employees in Europe or USA. And as it is much easier to learn English than Korean, those employees won’t learn Korean, but the Korean employees will use English.
    Of course your right, but I think English will establish the position of the most used language for world-wide communication.

  4. Kristin Says:

    In Norwegian we use aa for our å, ae for æ and oe for ø (And I don’t know if my letters show up at all.. ;-) )

    Anyway, I think English is the primary language of the web, – everyone that wants to get outside their borders and stretch worldwide write in English.

    The biggest problem I have with special charachters is the permalinks when blogging. It looks, well, bad.

  5. Omar Says:

    Do you have also other topics ?? you write all the time about your progress in english !!
    FREEEAKKK
    i hate you ,you know why ;)

  6. Jona Says:

    That's not true.

    I hate you even more, you know why ;-)

    Tomorrow, I'll kick your damn ass!

    ======  

    @Kristin

    I never used any special characters here, but I surely did on my German blog. But there exists a plugin to prevent bad links, it makes any ä-s to ae-s. I don't know if you maintain any self hosted wordpress blog, but if so, this plugin would easily be modified to fit your suits. 

    ======

    @all others:

    Isn't my catfight with my friend Omar annyoing to you? If so, I'll finally ban this kind of comments in the future, although I already said him I would. If not, keep on enyjoing it ;-)

Leave a Reply

