Qualities of speaking

I wanted to write this yesterday, but the server was down (Relax and enjoy this Easter Sunday morning, and know that everybunny at WordPress.com is working their butts off to get your blog back online). I think I lost some of my thoughts, nevertheless I'll try to write the rest down. 

When I want to say something (especially when it's more complicated) in English, I need a while to think and find the right expression(s). 

First, my vocabulary is everything than enough to say everything I want. Even when I try not to use dictionaries I often have to. In every case I need much more time to say or write something than I would need in German. 

Second, the English language has much more words than the German one. It is very common that a German expression has five, six or more possible translation in English. In German you would just use that single word for different meanings. In English you have all these words who have a slightly different meaning and are used with different intentions. 

After all I think English expresses things much more precisely than other languages, for example German. 

… and sorry if that post looks a bit troubled, because that's how I actually feel … I need a break, but from what?

7 Responses to “Qualities of speaking”

  1. lesBar Says:

    Deutsche Sprache

    Ich habe gerade einen Blogbeitrag gelesen, der sich mit den Vorzügen der englischen im Vergleich zur deutschen Sprache beschäftigt. Hier irrt der Autor! Es gibt unglaublich viele Wörter in der deutschen Sprache, mit denen man über e…

  2. Kristin Says:

    It is the same ‘problem’ with Norwegian vs. English as well, with one word meaning a lot of different things.

    Yet again, there are Norwegian words that don’t excist in the English language at all, which at some times does that I am unable to tell people excactly what I mean.

    The clue to write ‘good’ English is try to think in English.

  3. William Parry Says:

    Well you are doing the right thing by blogging. It will get better with more practice.

    Do you speak to anyone in conversation? When you speak English, I imagine you would have to think of words faster and thus make you more fluent.

    Have a break and come over the NZ. We’ll teach you how to speak :)

  4. Omar Says:

    Moin moin..
    You know exactly how much i hate to read your text. Though of your ” difficults” you write in a most better matter than I do. So don’t be ashamed and continue blogging ;)

  5. Jona Says:

    What a nice discussion here :-)

    @Kristin
    This case exists in German too, I think a good example is ‘doch’ which means something similiar to however or still, however it’s not quite the same.
    Sometimes I do think in English, but sometimes it seems to be more difficult. But especially through reading English books, this effect occurs to me.

    @William
    That’s a problem, I don’t have many possibilites to speak English, besides school (which doesn’t count anyway). The English speaking persons I know communicate mostly via email with me.

    And yes, I do would like to come to NZ. It was even one of the countries I applied for in order to spend a year abroad. But they don’t take many students and it’s quite expensive. I still have plans for the future after having finished school to spend some time in an English speaking country too. But after all, I’m content with Latvia.
    Only one thing: I won’t learn English there.
    Which leads directly over to

    @Omar
    You have it easy, you’ll spend your year abroad in the US, California and there’s no need for arguing who’s speaking a better English in just one year (probably already after half a year). ;-)

  6. Claire Says:

    Honnestly, I do think German is one of the language that best expresses very precise things. ‘Cause you can build words with several ones, unlike French.

    French is quite a “poor” language. Well, it depends how you cinsider it, but for example there are loads and loads of expressions that simply don’t exist…or sometimes you can find several phrases (expressions) in other languages, which will be translated by one only phrase in French; there’s no “nuance”…
    I noticed it above all when I started learning Swedish on my own: when I look for a word, there are ten or 15 swedish words…
    I have the same prob when I have to translate an English text into French, at school: sometimes you REALLY can’t find the proper word. And your French text no longer means exactly the same.

    By the way what d’you think of French? I mean, how does it sound to you? Cause it seems to me that this language must sound very weird to the foreigners…

  7. Jona Says:

     Hm. Don't know. I don't think it's that weird … French is very … hm, it sounds good. It's a little singsong, you know? The intonation.

    But with translation it's always the same: Every time you translate things, you actually change the sense. You can do nothing about it. Sometimes it's more, sometimes it's less. 

    Edit: Another thing about French: It is difficult to type, as you always have to type those é, è, á, ô, etc. Writing French (with a pen & on paper) is already much easier ;-)

Leave a Reply

